On a diet

“I’m on a diet.” these are the words I never intended to ever use in my life. Not that I never needed to. In fact, I do need to go on a diet as soon as possible as my weight is bordering obese, but I was never that conscious of my body, or how people look at me, so there’s never the pressure to be fit. Of course I know the consequences for my health, but I’m so mentally strong against what others tell me that I know I’m the only one who can convince myself to change my lifestyle. Until now, however, I’ve never won over myself. Strange, right?

It’s been two days since I started this “diet”. To be honest, I think I have the whole idea of this diet backwards, since I’m only doing it to prove something to myself; to prove that I can control myself of my impulses if I really put my mind into it. I know I have it, but laziness, procrastination and an overdose of self-confidence steer me away from achieving things. So if I lose weight after three days, then that’s a bonus.

Anyway, I’m on my second day of this 3-day “military diet” thing. Actually, it’s not so bad. I was expecting hunger pangs and cravings for rice and dishes that I love so much like pasta, pizza and adobo will be overwhelming that I’d drop the challenge on the first day, but there’s none. Fortunately, I’m almost at the finish line and I feel I’m not close to any breakdowns yet. On the other hand, this diet is probably calculated to supply the body just enough energy and needed nutrients at its minimum. So I never feel that full, but I don’t get hungry that much, too.

I guess the side effect of this sudden diet is that I don’t have much energy since the food I’m having are not rich in carbohydrates.

The first day felt fine, and I guess I survived that day with determination. Most of my co-teachers were teasing me and I feel they do not believe I can finish this task (they know how much I love eating), so my determination to win the challenge was greater.

Yesterday, the second day, was a bit different. I still didn’t feel hungry between meals, and there was never the craving to grab a snack, but I definitely feel my energy deflation. Somehow, I also developed a slight cold, so my nose is a bit stuffed now, giving me a headache. I’m not sure if the diet has something to do with weakening my immune system, or I’ve just been ignoring the bed sheets too much at night, but one of my co-teachers said that it must be my body adjusting to the sudden change in diet.

Today, the third day, is also not that bad, but there is a slight light-headedness? Somehow, I’m not that alert and my memory is faltering more often than usual. The diet has also removed coffee from the second day, so that left me feeling sleepier and stranger in the morning than usual. I have to substitute the coffee with either light tea or water. I’m drinking more water than usual to combat the sudden onset of hunger. The problem is, I have to go to the restroom more often in the day.

Well, as of this writing, I’m finished with lunch of the third day of the diet, so I have dinner left which is only a cup of tuna, half a banana, and vanilla ice cream. Good lord!

Almost at the finish line and I’m already feeling very very giddy over my impending success. I’m already proud of myself for sticking to this challenge this far. I can actually experience and learn more if only I’ll give myself a more chances to challenge myself.

Leave a Reply

