Life Advice

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”

Eleanor Roosevelt, You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life (memoir)

At the age of 27, I’m not very sure if I have lived enough to be giving life advices to a younger colleague. Nonetheless, I treasure the good and the bad experiences I have lived through the past years. Through the days of idleness, the depression, the silent tears, the struggles, the laughter, the realizations, the challenges; all these made me who I am now. I am not a a very good person, but I am much better than who I was before because of my past.

I’m sure my junior would not fully understanding my words unless she experience these herself, when she’s in her turning point and she’s doesn’t even have an idea why the universe seems to be conspiring against her at that very moment, but I hope she somehow remembers my advice that this is what makes life. No matter how long the frustration is, the landscape of our lives will change. The pain and challenge would be all worth it.

Leave a Reply

