Day 125: 05.06.17

022817-pbbmaymay_main

Happy 20th Birthday, Maymay Entrata!

I love this girl very much. I don’t easily trust people and I am skeptic of people’s intentions and actions, but this girl is making me believe that there are people out there who are really kindhearted, pure, and can charm the heck out of people like magic.

She seems so simple, but she’s beyond the simplicity that you see physically. Actually, her simplicity is one of her best traits. As an artista, you have to be fashionable, always in your best look for the camera, but this girl remains herself. She still wears the same clothes she wore in PBB, talks the same, still the crazy old Maymay, and the people who are able to be around her prove these with their testaments.

For once, I really want to meet this girl, give her a hug, and be crazy with her even for a short while.

So as a birthday gift, our group, MES, finally released our collection of oneshots (based on prompts given to each other) in Wattpad. YAY!

TWENTY: MES Project #1

In terms of writing process, this is one most excruciating piece I’ve ever made. I usually finish a one-shot in a single seating (I think it’s called a one-shot for that), but my piece was two weeks in the making! Also, I wasn’t very satisfied with the ending, but to comply, I just really had to give it my best shot and hope for contentment.

I’ve browsed through my co-writers work and wow, mine seems so boring! HUHU! I wanted to go for light and kilig, but mine became a waterfall of introspection. Nonetheless, I’ll just subscribe to the thought that I’m claiming that writing style, whether people like it or not.

Anyway, it’s the first time I’ve collaborated with others for a fandom project, and the people I’m with I believe are very awesome individuals, so I’m proud to be part of our small community.

Congratulations to us!

Day 124: 05.05.17

Last PTC of the school year DONE!!!

That’s three PTCs in a row from 1:45~4:00 PM, but everything went fine.

There were good news and bad news for every student, but I’m so glad that our parents are very understanding. The Parent-Teacher conferences are also very helpful on adding context to our observations with the student. After all, our reports are only from our perspectives in the classroom, but the situation in the house also contributes greatly to how children behave in the classroom. So in every issue, school-home partnership and cooperation surely brings good results.

Haaaay. It’s still hectic with so many things to do. Personally, I want to provide time for personal tasks like updating my blog and writing stories, but these work-related stuff are also piling up. Fortunately, I’m still coping. I just reaaaaaally need to shorten the break time I give myself. It’s too long. LOL

Day 123: 05.04.17

“You touch mine, I touch yours.”

Definitely something you wouldn’t want to hear from four-year-olds. Of course, it could be anything to touch like toys or food, but in this context, it could have been more invasive than that.

However, I try not to be bothered about it very much since these are still kids. They are naturally curious of their environment, their bodies, and also whatever their friends have. On the other hand, to prevent anything more invasive to happen (in particular, our culture is quite conservative), we’ve already laid the rules regarding private parts and the body.

In our class, we always remind our kids that their bodies are theirs. It is not anyone’s right to see or touch their bodies, even if that is a friend or best friend. Anything that is covered by their clothes are only theirs to see. Of course, their parents and family is fine, and we’ve began allowing them to change in the bathroom if it’s more comfortable for them. With this growing curiosity that we didn’t really see during the early parts of the school year, we have the boys and girls change clothes (after outdoor play) in separate areas.

Being a guardian/parent/teacher is very tricky when it comes to kids, their curiosity and topics that mean differently between adults and children’s perspective.

When young kids mention DEATH and then laugh about it, most adults would frown and even reprimand kids because our perspective of death is already beyond the body losing the ability to function. For us, death entails loss, longing, sadness, regrets, mortality, etc. Kids don’t understand these yet.

So I believe that these exploration of their bodies is part of their learning curve. What adults can do is to guide their learning and provide limitations to it.