Day 223: 08.15.17

1202241024292039

I’m not sure what got into me when I suddenly made a decision to watch this film, but then I just went ahead and glued myself to the same fetal position for the next two hours of the film.

No wonder this film is considered one of the greatest of all time. Such a powerful, powerful film about human nature, humanity, and our ever conflicted feelings about hope for humanity.

The film touched on so many issues and concepts without being loud. Like Red (Morgan Freeman), I was as bewildered and enticed about the story behind Andy and his eyes.

There’s so much to rave about this film and all people should watch it, really. Even just to reinstate hope for humanity, no matter how cruel a situation one will be in.

Probably my favorite part of the movie was when the library was redesigned and more books came it. It was very symbolic of Andy’s hope for regaining normalcy and achieving a sense of freedom, even when the reality is more cruel than that. The library enriched literacy and cultured the inmates.

My experience and emotions in watching this film is reminiscent to when I watched “Schindler’s List”. It’s when beat of the story, you want to take in, then you don’t even notice the time.

Haaaay. Beautiful, indeed.

 

I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing about. Truth is, I? don’t wanna know. I would like to think they were singing about some thing was so beautiful it cant be expressed in words and make your heart ache because of it.I tell you this voice soared higher and farther than anybody in a Gray place dares to dream it is like some beautiful bird flapped into our drab little cage and made these walls dissolve away. For the briefest moment every last man in Shawshank felt free.

Ellis Boy “Red” Redding, The Shawshank Redeption (1994, American Film)